Interesting Facts About Delaware

Delaware is a state located on the Atlantic Coast in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. The state takes its name from Thomas West, 3rd Baron De La Warr, a British nobleman and Virginia’s first colonial governor, after whom (what is now called) Cape Henlopen was originally named.

  • Birthplace of the Inventor of the Phonograph: E.R. Johnson
  • The first tractor John Deere made is in the Messick Agricultural Museum, Inc. in Harrington, Delaware.
  • Nylon Capital of the World: Seaford
  • Delaware was the first state to ratify the federal Constitution
  • Delaware is the Second Smallest State
  • In 1785 Oliver Evans of Newport invented the automatic flour-milling machinery that revolutionized the industry.
  • “Our Delaware” is the official state song. The words are by George Hynson, music by William Brown.
  • Wilmington, Delaware, was the first place Christmas seals were introduced in the United States in December 1907.
  • Delaware is one of only five states having no sales tax.
  • In total area Delaware ranks 49th in the nation. It contains 1,982 square miles. It is 96 miles long and varies from 9 to 35 miles in width.
  • Ebright Road in New Castle County is the highest state elevation at 442 feet above sea level. The lowest elevation is along the coast at sea level.
  • The Lady Bug is Delaware’s official state bug.
  • Delaware ranks 49th in the nation with a total land area of 1,955 square miles.
  • Delaware has 3 counties, the fewest of any state having counties.
  • Only State Without a National Park
  • One of the Last States to Use Corporal Punishment
  • Eleven years after the landing of the English pilgrims the first white settlement was made on Delaware soil.